CMT Music Awards Names Male Video Of The Year Winner


Cody Johnson took home the trophy for Male Video of the Year during Monday night’s CMT Music Awards. The video, “‘Til You Can’t”, earned Johnson his second CMT Music Awards trophy of the night as he accepted the Digital-First Video of the Year on the red carpet prior to the live show.


View this post on Instagram


A post shared by CMT (@cmt)

Also in the running in the Male Video of the Year category were:

  • Eric Church – “Heart On Fire”
  • Kane Brown – “One Mississippi”
  • Luke Bryan – “Waves”
  • Luke Combs – “Forever After All”
  • Thomas Rhett – “Country Again”
  • Walker Hayes – “Fancy Like”

Prior to his win, Johnson said that being recognized at the CMT Awards means that 15 years of hard work is paying off.

“My goal with this is to take what I do with my authentic brand of country music that I’ve spent my life developing and take it to people that may not have had the opportunity to hear it,” Johnson said. “The CMT Awards is an opportunity to be on national television and say, ’Hey, this cowboy hat is not fake. This belt buckle is not fake. This voice and this presentation, it’s not fake. I think hard work and perseverance are something we lack in society. That’s something that “’Til You Can’t” personifies.”

The winner was determined via fan votes placed on CMT’s official website.

The 2022 CMT Music Awards aired Monday night (April 11) on CBS and featured performances from Miranda Lambert, Walker Hayes, The Judds, Keith Urban, Carrie Underwood, Jason Aldean, Gabby Barrett, Cody Johnson, and more.

Watch Cody Johnson’s award-winning video below.

Want to save this article?

Get this sent to your inbox, plus, get new articles & videos from us every week!

Sponsors / Partners

Interested in becoming a partner?

Contact us for more info

Unapologetically Country

Receive daily updates with the best country music videos, news, and more!