Three New Jimmy Buffett Songs Hit Streaming Services

Jimmy Buffett

Jimmy Buffett / Instagram

Jimmy Buffett Recorded A New Album Before His Death – Hear Three Of Its Songs Now

Jimmy Buffett had a new album in the works prior to his death on September 1. He started previewing new songs on his SiriusXM channel, Radio Margaritaville, in August.

The songs played during a segment called “5 O’Clock Fridays.”

After Buffett passed away, three of those new songs became available to stream for the first time. They’re titled “My Gummie Just Kicked In,” “Like My Dog,” and Bubbles Up.”

The first two songs capture the fun-loving spirit Buffett was known for expressing. Relix got the chance to premiere a behind-the-scenes video about “My Gummie Just Kicked In,” and shared the hilarious story behind it.


How Paul McCartney Inspired Jimmy’s New Music

Interestingly, Buffett’s longtime friend Paul McCartney inspired the creation of “My Gummie Just Kicked In.” As Relix shares:

“Today’s premiere was inspired by a dinner party encounter involving Buffett, McCartney and his wife, Nancy. Nancy stumbled on her way to the dinner table, and when [Jimmy] asked if she was OK, she responded, ‘Oh, no — I’m fine. My gummie just kicked in!’ The two rock stars laughed and joked that they were going to write a song after her response.”

Once the song was finished, Buffett had McCartney in the studio to play bass on the track.

YouTube video

Paul Expressed Fondness For Jimmy’s More Emotional Song, “Bubbles Up”

After Buffett passed away, McCartney fondly recalled the last memories they made together in the studio. He shared how he felt about another one of his new songs, “Bubbles Up.”

McCartney also shared some background behind the tune:

“…I told him that not only was the song great but the vocal was probably the best I’ve heard him sing ever. He turned a diving phrase that is used to train people underwater into a metaphor for life when you’re confused and don’t know where you are just follow the bubbles – they’ll take you up to the surface and straighten you out right away. “

YouTube video

All The Details About The New Jimmy Buffett Album: When Is Its Release Date?

Buffett titled his new album Equal Strain on All Parts. According to Relix, the title references something Buffett’s grandpa used to say to describe a good nap.

The record contains a total of 14 tracks, including multiple collaborations. Check out the full track list below.

1. University of Bourbon Street (feat. Preservation Hall Jazz Band)
2. Bubbles Up
3. Audience of One
4. My Gummie Just Kicked In
5. Close Calls
6. Equal Strain On All Parts
7. Like My Dog
8. Ti Punch Café (feat. Angelique Kidjo)
9. Portugul or PEI (feat. Lennie Gallant, Will Kimbrough)
10. Nobody Works On Friday
11. Fish Porn
12. Johnny’s Rhum
13. Columbus
14. Mozambique (feat. Emmylou Harris)

Cover art for the Jimmy Buffett album Equal Strain on All Parts
Jimmy Buffett’s Official Website

Based on Buffett’s official website, Equal Strain on All Parts has a release date of November 3.

In the meantime, listen to “My Gummie Just Kicked In” and “Bubbles Up” in the clips above, and check out “Like My Dog” in the video below. All three songs can play on Spotify, Apple Music, and other music streaming services as well.

Jimmy Buffett was devoted to philanthropy. He founded two charitable organizations, Singing for Change and Save the Manatee Club. He also had a company called Last Mango Boatworks that sells apparel and accessories. Items sold from Last Mango benefit Singing for Change and Freedom Fighter Outdoors. Learn more about Jimmy’s philanthropic efforts or donate to one of the above-mentioned organizations here.

Want to save this article?

Get this sent to your inbox, plus, get new articles & videos from us every week!

Sponsors / Partners

Interested in becoming a partner?

Contact us for more info

Unapologetically Country

Receive daily updates with the best country music videos, news, and more!