Who Took Home The CMT Music Award For Breakthrough Male Video Of The Year?

Sunday night (April 7) marked the 2024 CMT Music Awards, where nine awards were given out, including Breakthrough Male Video of the Year.

Kelsea Ballerini hosted the incredible show, which took place at Austin’s Moody Center.

CMT Music Awards
CMT Music Awards / Facebook

The night included several show-stopping performances, including one from Jason Aldean. His appearance at the 2024 CMT Music Awards came as a surprise since CMT banned his music video for “Try That In A Small Town.”

Country Rebel

The night also featured a tribute to the late Toby Keith from Lainey Wilson, Brooks + Dunn, and Sammy Hagar. Other performances came from Bailey Zimmerman, Jelly Roll, Keith Urban, Sam Hunt, host Kelsea Ballerini, Sugarland and Little Big Town, Parker McCollum, Brittney Spencer, and more.

Cody Johnson opened up the show with an upbeat performance of his song, “That’s Texas!”


View this post on Instagram


A post shared by CMT (@cmt)

Along with the star-studded performances, nine awards were given out: Female Video of the Year, Male Video of the Year, Duo/Group Video of the Year, Collaborative Video of the Year, Breakthrough Female Video of the Year, Breakthrough Male Video of the Year, CMT Performance of the Year, and CMT Digital-First Performance of the Year.

Who took home Breakthrough Male Video of the Year?

The Breakthrough category goes to artists who have had a breakthrough year with their music videos and music. Gabby Barrett, Ashley McBryde, Carly Pearce, Lauren Alaina, Chris Stapleton, Sam Hunt, Cassadee Pope, Carrie Underwood, Luke Bryan, and Taylor Swift are among past recipients of the award!

This year, the award for breakthrough artist is split into male and female categories.

The Breakthrough Male Video of the Year nominees were as follows:

  • Chayce Beckham – “23”
  • Tyler Childers – “In Your Love”
  • Warren Zeiders – “Pretty Little Poison”
  • Zach Bryan – “Oklahoma Smokeshow”

Since the CMT Music Awards are fan voted, sometimes these awards mean more than industry awards to each artist.

This year, the fans decided that Warren Zeiders’ “Pretty Little Poison” would be taking home the award for Breakthrough Male Video of the Year. 

Congratulations to Warren! Watch his music video for “Pretty Little Poison” below.

Want to save this article?

Get this sent to your inbox, plus, get new articles & videos from us every week!

Sponsors / Partners

Interested in becoming a partner?

Contact us for more info

Unapologetically Country

Receive daily updates with the best country music videos, news, and more!