Reba & Rex Announce Winner Of Song Of The Year At CMA Awards

(Top Left) Morgan Wallen / YouTube / (Bottom Left) Chris Stapleton / YouTube / (Center) Jordan Davis / YouTube / (Top Right) Carly Pearce / YouTube / (Bottom Right) Lainey Wilson / YouTube

The Song of the Year award is one of the most prestigious awards the CMA has to hand out at its annual awards ceremony. This award is given to the songwriter(s) who crafted the winning song, meaning the artist who recorded the song doesn’t always receive the trophy. They will is they wrote or helped co-write the song.  This year, all nominees but one include the artist on the song.

The nominees for this year’s Song of the Year Award were as follows:

 “Buy Dirt” written by Jacob Davis, Jordan Davis, Josh Jenkins, and Matt Jenkins

“Never Wanted To Be That Girl” written by Shane McAnally, Ashley McBrude, and Carly Pearce


“Sand In My Boots” written by Ashley Gorley, Michael Hardy, and Josh Osborne


“Things A Man Oughta Know” written by Jason Nix, Jonathan Singleton, and Lainey Wilson


“You Should Probably Leave” written by Chris DuBois, Ashley Gorley, Chris Stapleton


View this post on Instagram


A post shared by Country Music Association (@cma)

All of these songs were extremely popular this year, so it was anyone’s guess as to which one would win. Last year’s award went to Mike Henderson and Chris Stapleton for Stapleton’s song “Starting Over.” Other songs that have won the award in the past include “He Stopped Loving Her Today,” “Strawberry Wine,” and “I Hope You Dance.

It was announced by Reba McEntire and Rex Linn that “Buy Dirt” would be taking home the coveted trophy for Song of the Year.


Want to save this article?

Get this sent to your inbox, plus, get new articles & videos from us every week!

Sponsors / Partners

Interested in becoming a partner?

Contact us for more info

Unapologetically Country

Receive daily updates with the best country music videos, news, and more!